+234 805 425 5169

NLN Board

The Board is the highest decision making body in the National Library of Nigeria and the membership is appointed by the Federal Government through the Honourable Minister of Education and subject to the approval of the President and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces.

Board Background and History

The Board is the highest decision making body in the National Library of Nigeria

The foundation for the existence of National Library was laid with the enactment of National Library Act of 1964 by the first Republic Legislature which actually took effect in 1966 following the inauguration of the first Board.  This law provided for the constitution of the governing Board and placed it in the category of corporations under the Nigerian Law.

The original Act was amended and further strengthened by Decree No. 29 of 1970 which introduced the establishment of branches in each capital of the Federation.  It also expanded the membership of the Board members to seventeen (17) and more importantly, made positive provision for National Library to serve as the depository of all published works, books, magazines, Newspaper, Films, and records for permanent preservation to make the library the giant memory and store house of knowledge for the nation.

By another decree, National Library Board (Amendment) Decree No 26 of 1976, the 1970 Act was further amended to make provision for representation of each of the existing nineteen (19) states on the Board.  The second decree of 1987 pruned down the membership of the Board to a more manageable proportion of twelve (12) constituting the states into six (6) geo-political zones among the states in each zone.  It also made allowances for the representation of interest groups such as Nigerian Library Association (NLA), the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, the Armed Forces of Nigeria and a representative of the Association of University Librarians of Nigerian Universities (AULNU).


The major functions of the Board as provided by the enabling law include:

1.   To establish and maintain National Library of Nigeria which will serve as the giant memory of the nation, its intellectual storehouse and data bank for its learning and remembering process.

2.   To provide such services as in the opinion of the Board are usually by National Libraries of the highest standing.

3.   For the purpose of carrying out the general functions imposed on the Board by subsection (1) above, it shall be the duty of the board, so far as its permits, to:-

(a)  assemble, maintain and extend a collection of books, periodicals, pamphlets, newspapers, maps, musicals scores, films and recordings and such other matters as the Board considers appropriate for a library of the highest standing.

(b)  establish and maintain a branch of National Library of Nigeria in each States of the Federation.

(c)   make the facilities of the National Library available to members of the public and others on proper terms, which may include provision for:

i) the imposition of a scale of fees, subject to the approval of the Honourable Minister, for services rendered to the public;

ii)  safeguarding the property of the board; and

iii) specifying the categories of persons who may be admitted to premises under the control of the Board.

(d)  To make such arrangements as the Board considers appropriate with respect to the:

i)  exchange of matters included in the collection aforesaid

ii)  preparation and publication of catalogues, indexes and similar aids

iii) provision of assistance to other persons in the organization libraries and with respect to the manner of using facilities under the control of libraries.

(e)   To make recommendations and give advice on library development or organization to any department or agency of government of the federal or state or to any local government authority.

(f)    To be responsible for the development of the National Bibliography of the Nigeria and National Bibliographical services, either in a National Bibliographical center or elsewhere.

(g)  The Board shall have such powers as may be necessary or desirable for the proper exercise of its function and in particular, without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the Board may:

i)  Sue and be sued in its corporate;

ii) acquire, hold and dispose of movable and immovable property.  In general, and in particular;

iii) do anything for the purpose of advancing the skill of persons employed by the Board or the efficiency of the equipment of the Board or of the manner in which that equipment is operated (including the provision by the Board, and the assistance of the provision by the facilities for training, education and research);

iv) provide Houses, Hostels and other like accommodation for persons employed by the Board;

v)   make loans to any person employed by the Board for the purpose of building a House, purchase a plot of Land on which a House for such a person may be built or purchase a House for the residential use of any person or his Family; and

vi)  otherwise promote the welfare of persons employed by the Board.

4.   Subject to this Act, the Honourable Minister may give the Board direction of a general character or relating generally to particular matters (but not to any individual person or case) with regard to the exercise by the Board of its functions and powers, and it shall be the duty of the Board to comply with the directives.

1st Board - 1965 to 1967

2nd Board - 1971 to 1973

12th Board - March 2018 to Sept. 2022

Prof Zaynab Alkali

Alh.Sanusi Abdullahi Nassarawa

Alh. Umar Inuwa

Abdulraham Shuaibu Abubakar

Barrister Princess Tonia Adal Amma

Brigadier General C.A. Bossman

Dr Okanlawon O Adediji

Dr Umunna N Opara

Mr. Umoh O.-Udo

Alh. Abubakar S. Shamaki

Barrister Aminu O. Ogaji

3rd Board - 1960 to 1980

4th Board - 1979 to 1989

6th Board - May 1989 to December 1991

7th Board - January 1992 to August 1999

8th Board - January 2001 to 2005

Princess Tejumade Alakija

Hon. Akinfolarin Samuel

Mrs. Janet Ngene

Alhaji Nasiru G. Kalambaina

Mrs. Malaram Mohammed

Hon. Rabiu Ishaq

Mrs. Josephine Okereke

Dr. J.O. Daniel

Dr. Lazarus Sani

Mrs. A.K. Shyllon (FME)

Chief J. Ade Ademuagun

Mr. Kingsley Agbakakha

Mr. Biodun Arikanbi

Mrs. O.O. Omolayole

Mr. R.T. Ndaeji

9th Board - November 2005 to 2009

Alhaji Abdullahi Abubakar Argungu

Hon. Sabiu Hassan Makera

Mrs. Harriba H. Pepple

Dr. Garba Magaji

Mr. Daudu Gabriel

Prince Oyetunde Oyebanji

Rev. I.C. Uwanaka

Mr. M.O. Afolabi

Ms. Victoria Okojie

Dr. (Mrs.) Rasasind A. Ukpong

Alhaji H.A. Tambuwal

Dr. L.N. Ikpaahindi

Barr. Aminu Ogaji

10th Board - 2009 to 2011

Alhaji (Dr.) Zannah Mustapha

(Chief) Mrs. Tessy Azuike

Alhaja Atinuke Oyawoye

Mrs. Julliet Chukkas Onaeko

Chief Godwin Udo Ameh

Alhaji Danladi Abdullahi Kwari

Alhaji (Dr.) Yusuf C. Kutama

Hon. Sani Almu Isah

Ms. Victoria Okojie

Mokwa Bawa Hadiza (Mrs.)

Prof. Olu Olat-Lawal

Prof. Lenrie Aina

Mr. A.T. Agboola

Mr. A.T. Salami

Alhaji Nassarawa

Dr. L.N. Ikpaahindi

Barr. Aminu Ogaji

11th Board

Alhaji Abdullahi Haruna Ningi

Inye Marshall Harry Jnr.

Mr. Kalabari Odimiri

Madaki Hussaini Abdullahi

Obafemi Oye

Salisu Suleiman

Hon. Tijani Kumalia

Usman Idris Mawogi

Hon. (Mrs.) Tinuke Akinwale

Chief Innocent Anoliefo

Prof. (Mrs.) Felicia Etim

Mr. Obi Michael

Alhaji Rilwanu Abdulsalami (NLA)

Col. M.M. Bunza (Rep. Army)

Prof. I. Ekoja (Rep. of CULNU)

Mr. L.B. Ogundana (Rep. of Perm. Sec)

Mallam Habib Abba Jato

Barr. Aminu Ogaji